Biomedical Image & Signal Analytics

    1. SAT Name:
      Biomedical Image & Signal Analytics

    2. SAT Acronym:
      BISA

    3. SAT Technical Area:
      This SAT covers a broad area of image & signal processing dedicated to biomedical applications in medicine, biology, physiology, neurosciences, genetics, and so on. These fields are driven by the availability of large amounts of signals and images with a huge variety in terms of their nature and spatial and temporal scales; data sources include microscopy, medical imaging devices, (wearable) sensors, all with an increasing degree of integration between acquisition and computation. In addition, there is a need to quantify more advanced features from this data using modeling approaches adopted from the image & signal processing community at large.

    4. SAT Motivation:
      Advanced image & signal processing has become an essential part of biomedical research in medicine, molecular biology, neurosciences,... . The BISA SAT wants to actively promote synergies at the interdisciplinary interface where advanced imaging and data processing meet with biomedical sciences. In addition to image & signal processing tailored to biomedical applications, we also want to cover the emerging field of analytics, where learning from this type of data is pursued. An increasing number of researchers in signal processing and part of the EUSIPCO community are getting exposed and engaged into biomedical projects. Therefore, the BISA SAT will actively foster the emergence of a biomedical community within EUSIPCO. We also plan to reach out to other scientific communities.

    5. SAT Planned Activities:
      A specific plan of activities: - Strengthen the biomedical activities at EURASIP in terms of workshops, tutorials, and special sessions, in particular, at EUSIPCO. Specifically, we will identify emerging topics, proposing special sessions & chairs.
      - Initiate a Best Paper Award at EUSIPCO for papers in the area of biomedical image and signal processing.
      - Encourage new special issues in the EUSIPCO journals on specific subtopics covered by our SAT.
      - Provide expertise to the EURASIP Board of Directors.

    6. SAT Chair and Co-Chair:

      Chair:
      Dimitri Van De Ville
      Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
      and Université de Genève
      Switzerland


      email: dimitri.vandeville at epfl.ch
      Ph. +41 21 6939669







      Vice-Chair:
      Françoise Peyrin
      CREATIS, INSA Lyon University of Lyon, France
      Phone: +33 0476 88 23 35
      francoise.peyrin at creatis.insa-lyon.fr


    7. SAT membership:

      Name Affiliation Email End of term
      Evrim Acar University of Copenhagen, Faculty of Science, Denmark Evrim.acarataman at gmail.com   Dec. 2018
      Pierre Bellec Université de Montréal, Canada pierre.bellec at criugm.qc.ca   Dec. 2018
      Danilo Bzdok Department of Psychiatry, RWTH Aachen, Germany danilo.bzdok at rwth-aachen.de   Dec. 2020
      Philippe Ciuciu CEA/NeuroSpin, INRIA Parietal team & Paris-Saclay University, France philippe.ciuciu at cea.fr   Dec. 2018
      Antitza Dantcheva INRIA, Sophia Antipolis, France antitza.dantcheva at inria.fr   Dec. 2020
      Maarten De Vos Oxford University, United Kingdom maarten.devos at eng.ox.ac.uk   Dec. 2018
      Pier Luigi Dragotti Imperial College London, United Kingdom p.dragotti at imperial.ac.uk   Dec. 2018
      Alexandre Gramfort CNRS, LTCI, Telecom ParisTech, Université Paris-Saclay, France alexandre.gramfort at gmail.com   Dec. 2018
      Moritz Grosse-Wentrup University of Munich, Germany mgw at stat.uni-muenchen.de   Dec. 2018
      Lars Kai Hansen Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby, Denmark lkai at dtu.dk   Dec. 2018
      Ercan Kuruoglu CNR - Istituto di Scienza e Tecnologie dell’Informazione “A. Faedo”, Pisa, Italy CNR - Istituto di Scienza e Tecnologie dell’Informazione “A. Faedo”, Pisa, Italy   Dec. 2018
      Jean-Marc Lina Ecole de Technologie Supérieure, Montréal, Canada jean-marc.lina at etsmtl.ca   Dec. 2018
      Vittorio Murino Italian Institute of Technology, Genova, Italy vittorio.murino at iit.it   Dec. 2018
      Barbara Nicolas CREATIS, University of Lyon, CNRS, France barbara.nicolas at creatis.insa-lyon.fr   Dec. 2020
      Jean-Christophe Olivo-Marin Institut Pasteur, France jcolivo at pasteur.fr   Dec. 2018
      Joaquin Oton National Center of Biotechnology (CSIC), Campus Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain joton at cnb.csic.es   Dec. 2018
      Josien Pluim Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands j.pluim at tue.nl   Dec. 2018
      Jan Sijbers University of Antwerp, Belgium jan.sijbers at uantwerpen.be   Dec. 2018
      Leif Sörnmo Department of Biomedical Engineering, Lund University, leif.sornmo at bme.lth.se   Dec. 2018
      Magnús Örn Úlfarsson University of Iceland, Reykavik, Iceland mou at hi.is   Dec. 2018
      Françoise Peyrin CREATIS, INSA Lyon University of Lyon, France francoise.peyrin at creatis.insa-lyon.fr   Dec. 2020
      Michael Unser Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland michael.unser at epfl.ch   Dec. 2018
      Gaetano Valenza Research Center “E.Piaggio”, Faculty of Engineering, University of Pisa, Italy  g.valenza at ieee.org    Dec. 2018
      Dimitri Van De Ville Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne and Université de Genève Switzerland  email: dimitri.vandeville at epfl.ch   Dec. 2018
      Javier Vargas McGill University, Montréal, Canada javier.vargasbalbuena at mcgill.ca   Dec. 2018