It is our pleasure to welcome you to the 20th European Signal Processing Conference (EUSIPCO 2012) in Bucharest. EUSIPCO is the flagship conference of the European Signal Processing (EURASIP) Society.

This year we received 852 paper submissions and a tremendous effort has been put into a thorough review of all submitted papers. The organizing committee had all submitted papers subjected to peer evaluation by 1333 volunteer reviewers and 290 TPC members. They provided 3491 reviews with an average of 4.1 reviews per paper. The review process was managed by 26 Area Chairs. The area chairs monitored the review process and made recommendations for each paper.

EUSIPCO 2012 program includes 8 exciting plenary lectures covering important and timely topics in all the aspects of signal processing. We are therefore delighted to announce the following plenary lectures:

  • Vivek Goyal, MIT, USA: Space-from-Time Imaging: Acquiring Reflectance and Depth with Less Optics
  • Eric Moulines, IEEE Fellow, EURASIP Fellow, Télécom ParisTech, France, Information Theoretic Aggregation for Sparse Prediction
  • Lajos Hanzo, IEEE Fellow, EURASIP Fellow, University of Southampton, UK: Shannonian Abstractions, Real-Time Interactive Communications Calamities and Near-Capacity Multimedia Transceivers...
  • Jean-Paul Haton, IEEE Fellow, IARP Fellow, IUF, France: Automatic Speech Recognition: Past, Present and Future
  • Christian Jutten, IEEE Fellow, IUF, GIPSA Lab, France: Source Separation in Nonlinear Mixtures: How and Why?
  • Arye Nehorai, IEEE Fellow, RSS Fellow, Washington Univ. in St. Louis, USA: Computable Performance Analysis of Sparsity Recovery with Applications
  • Mihaela van der Schaar, IEEE Fellow, UCLA, USA: A New Theory for Designing Socio-Computational Systems
  • Alle-Jan van der Veen, IEEE Fellow, Delft Univ. of Technology, Netherlands: Sensing the Universe: Signal Processing Challenges for Large Radio Telescope Arrays

The conference begins on Monday August 27th with 8 free-of-charge tutorials. These were carefully selected from 17 proposals submitted in response to the Call for Tutorials by a team of experts guided by Prof. Bulent Sankurand and Prof. Petros Maragos. The evaluation process resulted in the selection of the following tutorials covering a range of topical areas in the field of signal processing:

  • Nikos Komodakis, M. Pawan Kumar, and Nikos Paragios: Inference and Learning for Image Processing and Computer Vision
  • M. Vetterli, V. Goyal: Teaching Signal Processing with Geometry
  • Augusto Sarti and Fabio Antonacci: Geometric Space-Time Audio Processing
  • Israel Cohen, Sharon Gannot, Emanuël Habets, and Ronen Talmon: Speech Enhancement for Acoustic Communication using Multiple Microphones and Diffusion Maps
  • Petar Djurić: Population Monte Carlo Sampling in Signal Processing
  • Ioan Tabus: Information Theoretic Methods in Genomic Signal Processing
  • Hamid Krim and Anna Scaglione: Network Signal Processing
  • Andrea M. Tonello: Advances in Power Line Communications and Application to the Smart Grid

The Eusipco 2012 programme also offers 22 special sessions covering key research topics. The special The EUSIPCO 2012 program also offers 22 special sessions covering key research topics. The special sessions were carefully selected and all the papers in the special sessions were peer reviewed as regular papers. The selection process was led by the special session chairs Prof. Eric Pauwels and Prof. Silviu Ciochină.

As Technical Program Chairs, we would like to thank the plenary speakers, tutorials presenters, reviewers, TPC members, session chairs and all authors and presenters for their contributions to EUSIPCO 2012. In particular we would like to thank the Area Chairs for their dedication and for their instrumental support for building a high quality EUSIPCO 2012 Technical Program.

We look forward to welcoming you in Bucharest.

Pier Luigi Dragotti and Vladimir Stankovic,
EUSIPCO 2012 Technical Program Chairs