EURASIP Awards Presented at EUSIPCO 2011

The European Association for Signal Processing (EURASIP) congratulates the following colleagues who will receive the Society's prestigious awards. The awards will be presented at EUSIPCO 2011 in Barcelona, Spain.

The Technical Achievement Award honours a person who, over a period of years, has made outstanding technical contributions to the theory or practice in technical areas within the scope of the Society, as demonstrated by publications, patents, or recognized impact on this field. This year's recipient is Yuri I. Abramovich, “for fundamental contributions to adaptive array processing for radar.”

The Group Technical Achievement Award is given to the head of a group in academia or industry that has achieved significant contributions in Signal Processing and related areas over a number of years.  This year's recipient is Levent Onural, “for contributions to signal processing issues related to diffraction, holography and holographic video.”

The Athanasios Papoulis Award is given to honour scientists whose work had a major impact in various aspects on Signal Processing education. The award is offered only on demand, every time there is an exceptional candidate and not on a regular period of time. This year's recipient is Simon Haykin, “for contributions to education in signal processing, telecommunications and pattern recognition.”

In addition to the Society's awards, at EUSIPCO 2011 also five Best Paper Awards will be awarded, honouring the author(s) of a paper of exceptional merit dealing with a subject related to the Society's technical scope, and appearing in one of the EURASIP journals in the 4-years window 2006-2009. The prize is 1,000 Euros per paper and a certificate. For each journal, a collection of papers were pre-selected by the journal Editor-in-Chief, based on reviewers' scores or direct nomination by the members of the Editorial Board who managed the review process of the submitted papers. The nominated papers were then evaluated by a committee of four experts who selected the paper to be awarded based on general quality, originality, subject matter, and timeliness. This year, the awardees are the following:

Rahul Vaze and Robert W. Heath Jr., for their paper “End-to-End Joint Antenna Selection Strategy and Distributed Compress and Forward Strategy for Relay Channels,” published in the EURASIP Journal on Wireless Communications and Networking, Volume 2009, Article ID 295418.

Zhi-Quan (Tom) Luo and Jong-Shi Pang, for their paper “Analysis of iterative waterfilling algorithm for multiuser power control in digital subscriber lines” published in the EURASIP Journal on Applied Signal Processing. Volume 2006, Article ID 24012.

Yaakov Tsaig and David L. Donoho, for their paper “Breakdown of equivalence between the minimal l1-norm solution and the sparsest solution,” published in Signal Processing, Volume 86, Issue 3, March 2006, pp. 533548.

Karsten Müller, Aljoscha Smolic, Kristina Dix, Philipp Merkle, Peter Kauff, and Thomas Wiegand, for their paper “View Synthesis for Advanced 3D Video Systems,” published in the EURASIP Journal on Image and Video Processing, Volume 2008, Article ID 438148.

Zeynep Inanoglu and Steve Young, for their paper “Data-Driven Emotion Conversion in Spoken English,” published in Speech Communication, vol. 51, 2009, pp. 268283.

For the first three journals the award is assigned yearly, for the last two every two years, as detailed in the EURASIP webpage ( The best paper awards are sponsored by the journals publishers, Hindawi (recently replaced by Springer) and Elsevier.

Fulvio Gini

Director, Awards Chairman